About Christ Church

Christ Church mission was established as the first church in the mountain area by the Rev. D. O. Kelly, an Episcopal priest and circuit rider missionary from the Diocese of California. It was consecrated on June 20, 1894. The Rev. James C. McGowan directed the early church for many years. Later the Episcopal and Presbyterian churches jointly operated the mission. The original church building now stands as the Little Church on the Hill in the Oak Hill Cemetery in Oakhurst. A major restoration project begun in the 1990s resulted in new siding and an authentically restored stained glass windows. The historic building is maintained by The Little Church Foundation for public use.